Skip to content

Are you addicted to Real Estate?

February 4, 2012

I love information and just can’t get enough of it.  Magazine articles, reading blogs, books, tv shows, radio shows, podcasts, talking to mentors, and various RE club meetings – I just can’t get enough of this stuff. I find it really interesting and entertaining. Here are my favorite sources of information on real estate investing:

Local Library – Books, magazines, Wall Street Journal, Barron’s, local newspapers. It’s all at the library and FREE.

Books on Tape – There are also great real estate books and other personal development books on cd. I spend a lot of time behind the windshield, so books on cd are ideal for me.  

Blogs – I really enjoy reading other people’s blogs – especially those written on a more personal level. Those written about personal experiences, current deals, mistakes that were made, etc seem to keep my attention the most. 

Books – After exhausting my local library, I purchase books at places like Amazon, half-price books, ebay, etc.

Radio – We have a few local Real estate programs here in Dallas that are decent. I have recently been turned onto an app on my phone where I can pick up radio programs outside my market. Of course real estate is very location sensitive, but much of the ideas and market talk is universal in nature.

Biggerpockets.com – This is a great site. It is an open forum for real estate investors of all types. There are some very experienced investors that post on the site regularly. I find myself on this site at least a couple of times a week.

The other day I went to eviction court in my local city court house. I was not evicting anyone — just curious and wanted to understand the process a little better. This is a cheap way to get educated and it was quite entertaining.

Related Post:

ROI, Cap Rates, Rent Ratios – Do we sometimes get caught up in the analysis?

From → General

2 Comments
  1. I’m with you man – I can’t tell you how many countless hours I’ve spent reading and re-reading the same books, refreshing my podcast subscriptions hoping they’ll be more content. ha ha! Good to know I’m not alone!

  2. I am right there with you I love learning as much as possible about real estate and real estate investing. Do you have any suggestion on books, podcast, books on tape, etc as I have been reading and listening to the same stuff over and over again. I am in desperate need of fresh materials. Thanks for the article.

Leave a Reply

