Skip to content

Vacancy Report Card 2011

January 28, 2012

Vacancies are one of the biggest cost drivers for me. The combination of the loss in rental income and the new rent ready expenses make vacancies a double whammy. I tracked my days vacant for each of our properties for last year. We started off rough right away in January, but overall the full year results were not too bad. The table below shows the total days vacant for each of our 6 properties.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had 100% occupancy for 4 of our properties, but I certainly plan to do better than 42 days in 2012. Property 5 was last year’s disaster. You can read about this vacancy here.

Property 2 was vacant in April, but this one only lasted 14 days despite no notice. Property 6 was our old primary that we converted to a rental. My wife had this place rented after only 9 days. She had the new tenants moving in on the day we left so I am showing zero days vacant.

I took advantage of the vacancy in Property 2 and raised the rent to $795. I kept the rent at $995 on Property 5 due to the January vacancy.

Related Post:

How to Lower your vacancy rate

From → Landlord

3 Comments
  1. Nice roll – up! Amazing how vacancies unchecked can really eat at profits. I’m with you, sometime you gotta to be a little humble with your “asking rent price” so you can get someone in there. One month of vacancy actually ends up costing more than dropping the rent $25-50 bucks.

  2. That seems like a pretty good vacancy rate overall. What’s your most effective way to advertise vacancies?

    I’ve had pretty good luck with Craigslist.

  3. Terry,

    I use a For Rent sign in the front yard as my only advertising. I have tried Craigslist, but did not have any luck.

Leave a Reply

