Skip to content

Setting the rent amount.

August 27, 2011

So how do you know where to set your rent? Understanding what rents are going for in your area is the first objective. I do this by calling on all rentals in my neighborhood and finding out where they set their rent. I also ask them about their deposit, pet deposits or fees, bedrooms, baths, updates they have made, etc.  I get full information on the comps in my area. You essentially are competing.

Another source I use is various websites. Zillow seems to be the most popular, but I question the accuracy of their data. I find finestexpert to be more accurate and is one of my favorite on-line comp sources. Other sources include newspaper ads, Craigslist, MLS, or asking a realtor or property manager.

I try and set my rent slightly below market. The idea being my property will not be the best one in the neighborhood, but it should be far from the worst. I don’t want to be the cheapest, but I don’t want to be the most expensive either. Some tenants will move from one home to another in the same neighborhood just to save $50 per month – even if the cost of moving would exceed this savings.

I have heard pundits say that you should price your rental slightly above market because tenants are opportunistic. They don’t think ahead and when they need a place to stay so they have to take what is available. You don’t want these tenants anyways. I have had the best luck by finding what my market will hold and pricing slightly below this.

From → Landlord

2 Comments
  1. Chuck – I’ve heard that Rentometer (www.rentometer.com) is popular, but HotPads (www.hotpads.com) has a really cool drill-down using the Advanced search.

  2. Jeff,

    I have heard of rentometer. I will have to check out hotpads. Thanks. The one I really liked finestexpert.com just recently sent me a note they were shutting down. I really liked that one…

Leave a Reply

